SPRINGFIELD – The House and Senate Redistricting Committees today released updated Cook County Judicial Subcircuit boundaries that reflect suggestions gathered during the public hearing in December. Additionally, the Committees released proposed redrawn subcircuits for the 16th and 19th Circuits, as well as the proposed creation of subcircuits in the 3rd, 7th, 17th and 18th Circuits to allow for greater opportunities for diversity on the bench. Redrawn subcircuits for the 12th and 22nd Circuits will be forthcoming.

Noteworthy revisions to the Cook County boundaries include consolidating Niles Township and extending greater Chinatown further south down to Pershing Road. These improvements, offered through public testimony, will better reflect the population and demographics in these communities.

The creation of new subcircuits in DuPage, Sangamon and Madison counties will give minority communities a better opportunity to elect candidates of their choice and influence elections. These new subcircuits will help improve the diversity of opinion and background of judges, while giving everyone a voice in electing a bench of judges they feel best represent their communities.

The proposed drawing of subcircuits will not impact the tenure of current circuit court judges.

Members of the public may provide testimony or offer suggestions through email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. If anyone wishes to submit their own proposals, they may do so through the online map portal located on the House and Senate redistricting websites. For that tool and to view the proposed maps, visit www.ilhousedems.com/redistricting or www.ilsenateredistricting.com.


Proposed Chicago School Board Map

Proposed Chicago School Board Map

Proposed District Map

How to Draw Maps

Share Your Input

Share Your Input

Comparta su Opinión

View Public Submissions

All Enacted Maps

Enacted Legislative Map